Bald Eagle Nest Update: Encouraging News!

IMG_9745-002Written By: Jim Wright for Duke Farms and Conserve Wildlife Foundation

Duke Farms got permission from the state to visit the Bald Eagle nest tree today at noon to see how much damage was caused by Sunday’s lightning strike.

Charles, Barreca, Duke Farms’ manager of ecological stewardship, surveyed the nest tree and surrounding area, and he saw no signs whatsoever of any injured or dead eagles.

What’s more,  he was able to see one of the eaglets flying (above) — and doing quite well. After all of the concern over the eaglets and the nest, it was a sight to behold.

In addition, the nest tree did not sustain any visible damage, and the camera itself had no visible damage.  Here is a gallery of shots from the visit. (Click on a photo to enlarge.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Bald Eagle Nest Update: Encouraging News!

  1. Barb says:

    That is wonderful news! Thank you so much for everything!

  2. Diane says:

    Awesome news! Jim thanks for the great photos and the update. So one eaglet in flight, was anyone able to spot the other on a branch? I have enjoyed reading your blogs this year. So have my 3rd and 4th graders!

  3. Maryann Smith says:

    Thank you!!! I am so happy to read All is well with the nest and eaglets. I very much appreciate DF and all Involved with showing and providing Info concerning the Eagles. I do have One question if I may, why is it necessary to get permission from the State in order to check out the nest Area? Doesn’t it belong to Duke Farm? Again, thank you for all you Do!

    Sincerely, Maryann

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • dukefarms says:

      New Jersey is terrific in looking out for what’s best for the eagles. Now is an especially sensitive time. and everyone wants to keep human presence to a minimum. If it weren’t for the state, and federal government, I doubt we’d have eagles in NJ today.

  4. Judy says:

    I’m so happy that everything is fine! Thank you, Duke Farms and Jim Wright, for going out and letting us know how the eagles have done after the storm. Thank you for the camera to allow us watch their world and all the work you do for our wildlife and environment.

  5. Donnalee Butrymowicz says:

    To all the followers of DF eagles who truly are hoping for the best outcome and especially to the caretakers who tirelessly take the well being of the eagle family extremely personal I commend your loyalty and hard work. Since being welcomed into the “clutch” I feel I have a purpose to help bring awareness to the survival of this majestic bird. So even if its as little as talking with a friend or help raise money, as long as my body allows me, I am there. So lets all put our best wing forward and rally around such a good cause. So from me, I am wishing our DF eagle family of 2015 an adventurous, healthy and long life. I am sure I am speaking on behalf of many of our followers that we are looking forward to see what exciting things brings our DF eagle pair in 2016. I say this from the heart, thank you for such a warm welcome. This is the first group I felt compelled to join, and that says a lot for your group! You all should be proud of yourselves for taking that extra step if its keeping people up-dated to giving a teaching moment about the eagle in general. So in closing I will say……….
    “Take a deep breath, close your eyes, raise your arms out to your side, feel the breeze and soar. Is this what an eagle feels? Free? Wish life was so easy, even the eagle has to persevere. So let’s do things that count the most and has a purpose. It’s a feel good life, but it’s up to you.” DB 2015

  6. Sharon Fornarotto says:

    I love watching the development from egg to eaglet. It is fun to watch the baby eagles develop. Thank you for providing us with this unique insight into their lives. Sharon Fornarotto, Highland Park, NJ

  7. Painter Lady says:

    I am a guest teacher in Calgary, Alberta, Canada, on contract with a class of grade threes. This year, I created a booklet, based on your own more advanced teaching unit, to accommodate observations by my students. It has been an amazing experience and I thought I would share some of what has gone on with my students as they watched. Thank you for this beautiful observation. I began my contract at the end of February, so we were able to watch throughout the spring. https://shepaintsred.wordpress.com/2015/06/14/and-then-there-was-one/

  8. pegster6 says:

    Great news about your nest! I have to add the DF nest to my list for next season. This season was my first and I was consumed by Hanover, then (after the kids sabotaged the cam) Decorah and Dollywood and some of Ozzie and Harriet’s travails in FL. Not to mention the tragic loss of Ma Lafarge in British Columbia 😦 Not enough time in the day to follow many and there seem to be more every year. I love these majestic birds so much my Amazon charity is now a wildlife rehab organization that specializes in eagles and owls.

    What a wonderful picture up above of a fledgling soaring high and free!! This is what we wish for every one of them. Am I the only one who can hardly wait for winter again? Never thought I’d ever say such a thing! LOL Please keep up your great work.
    Peg in NY

Leave a Reply

